Skip to content

Jungle Love: The Details

January 13, 2014

Well, here it is: the details post. The contents of this post are what consumed my life for the entire year before my wedding. I was obsessed – maybe even a little insane? But when I look at these pictures, all the insanity was worth it. Well, most of it, anyway.

Wedding Pergola with Hanging Peonies

The ceremony items were some of my favorites. I ordered the glass jars and vials for the pergola flowers from Specialty Bottle, and our florist hung them with wire.

Wedding Pergola with Hanging Flowers in Glass Vials

We also bought shepherd’s hooks and mason jars for the florist to line up along the aisle.

Shepherd's Hooks with Flowers in Mason Jar at Wedding Ceremony

Shepherd's Hooks with Flowers in Hanging Mason Jars at Wedding

I designed all the wedding stationery, including the programs. The starburst thingy on the front was meant to mimic the graphic on our save the dates, but I also incorporated the Memoriam Pro font from our wedding invitations.

Purple Wedding Programs

I printed all of our stationery with Catprint, using their lux cotton card stock. I opted to go with black and white on the inside of the programs to save a little moolah.

Wedding Programs

Most of the printing process went smoothly, but I screwed up the measurements for the programs, so the design from the front extended a bit onto the back. Sigh. Oh, well. We included a poem by Daniel Ladinsky, which I really love. (There’s been some controversy about this poem, but I don’t really care. In fact, I love it so much that I had the last line tattooed on my forearm a few months before the wedding. That didn’t go over real well with all of my family members, but again – oh, well.)

Wedding Program

My mother-in-law found beautiful sandalwood fans from Koyal Wholesale, modeled here by our videographer:

Sandalwood Wedding Fan

We had a few small tables set up for the cocktail hour, but we tried not to go overboard with decorations, since after all, it’s just an hour.

Mercury glass and flowers

The majority of the flower business happened inside, at the reception. As you may recall, Mr. Panther and I spent months collecting vintage silver and mercury glass from all over the place – Etsy, Ebay, little antique stores, HomeGoods, TJ Maxx and even a fellow bee. One of my favorite pieces was the giant silver champagne bucket that held the flowers at our entry table.

Wedding Flowers in Silver Champagne Bucket

Purple and Blue Seating Cards

Blue and Purple Place Cards

Our florist got so creative with the rest of our items. I couldn’t believe he got flowers into everything we gave him!

Flowers in Silver Candelabra

Wedding Flowers in Pillar Candle Holder

Flowers in Silver Creamer

Wedding Flowers in Candelabra

Wedding Flowers in Silver Footed Bowl

Wedding with Pink Peonies

Wedding Flowers in Mercury Glass Vase

He even found a place for some random mercury glass birds that I gave him.

Mercury Glass Birds in Wedding Flowers

I absolutely loved our flowers. They provided such a beautiful backdrop for everything, including our rings.

Wedding Rings with Flowers

I was pretty happy with how our table numbers came out, too. (You can read about how I made them here, here and here.)

Framed Wood Table Number with Floral Fabric

Framed Wood Table Number with Floral Fabric

Framed Wood Table Number with Floral Fabric

Framed Wood Table Number with Floral Fabric

Framed Wood Table Number with Floral Fabric

Our menus were placed on each plate. (Thankfully, these printed out correctly.)

Purple and Blue Floral Wedding Menu

Blue and Purple Floral Wedding Menu

And oh my sweet lord, our cake. The flowers were exactly how I imagined them. I didn’t even want to eat it – too pretty.

Wedding cake with peonies and Ann Wood bird cake topper

Our cake topper was made by the wonderful and talented Ann Wood. It was pricy, but we still have it on display in our living room!

Ann Wood bird cake topper

I have many, many, many more detail photos, but you have to draw the line somewhere, right? Ha. If only I’d done that during the planning process.

Did choosing wedding details make you a little insane, too?

Miss any of the Panther recaps? Get caught up!

All photos by Raw Photo Design

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

