Skip to content

Jungle Love: All Dressed Up

June 11, 2012

After a whirlwind morning of hair, makeup and mimosas, it was finally time to get dressed. My bridesmaids had already slipped into their J. Crew Arabelle dresses (in matisse blue, in case you’re wondering!), so they were on hand to help me out. Bridesmaid Jess, who is blessed with height, held my gown off the floor so I could get it off the hanger.

Amsale Dahlia Wedding Dress

I had decided at the last minute to skip my torture device (“shaping slip”), which had only gotten tighter and more torturous in the 11 weeks since I had purchased it. Aren’t you supposed to lose weight right before the wedding? Weird. Oh, well.

Amsale Dahlia Wedding Dress

The girls got to work on zipping me in, and at first, everything seemed wonderful. “Yay, I’m being zipped into my wedding dress!” I thought happily. “This is so special and perfect and everything I imagined it would be!”

Amsale Dahlia Wedding Dress

Unfortunately, we soon found out that the process wouldn’t be all sunshine and rainbows. My zipper was stuck at the waist, and it would. not. budge.

Amsale Dahlia Wedding Dress

I think this next series of photos is hilarious, because you can see my face going from “Oh, holy shit, I am so walking down the aisle with my dress unzipped” to “Of course I’m walking down the aisle with my dress unzipped! This is me we’re talking about. Clearly, there always has to be some kind of disaster.”

Amsale Dahlia Wedding Dress

Amsale Dahlia Wedding Dress

Amsale Dahlia Wedding Dress

Amsale Dahlia Wedding Dress

Amsale Dahlia Wedding Dress

Finally, our male photographer, Eric, returned from photographing the guys over at the hotel, and we immediately put his muscles to use. After just a few moments of tugging, I was in! Hallelujah!

Amsale Dahlia Wedding Dress

Meanwhile, all my accessories were waiting patiently. My Jimmy Choo “Clue” shoes

Jimmy Choo Clue Gold

Jimmy Choo Clue Gold

Jimmy Choo Clue Gold

My mother’s veil …

Lace Edged Wedding Veil

My bee charm, to remind me of one of the most wonderful parts of my wedding planning journey (hint: that’s you guys!) …

Weddingbee Charm

My Lee Angel necklace

Lee Angel Pearl Cluster Necklace

And my J. Crew pavé link bracelet

J. Crew Pave Link Bracelet

Once my dress was on, we tackled the shoes. First, I attempted to put them on myself.

Jimmy Choo Clue Gold

But my big skirt was making things difficult, so my bridesmaids jumped in to take over.

Amsale Dahlia and Jimmy Choo Clue

I doused myself in my favorite perfume, Guerlain Insolence.

Amsale Dahlia Guerlain Insolence

I checked my sequined clutch to make sure it was stocked, and the other girls hurried to make last-minute adjustments.

Amsale Dahlia Sequined Halston Clutch

It was about this time when I realized I had forgotten to ask my hair stylist to put my veil in my hair. I had no idea what to do with the thing. Luckily, our photographers were ready to save the day – again. This time, Amber was my savior.

Amsale Dahlia with Veil

I put on my necklace …

Bride Putting on Necklace

Moved my engagement ring to my right hand …

Amsale Dahlia Wedding Dress Lee Angel Pearl Cluster Necklace

Tried unsuccessfully to tame a stubborn piece of hair …

Lee Angel Pearl Cluster Necklace J. Crew Pave Link Bracelet Bride

And finally, decided to sit down and take a breath.

Bride Lee Angel Pearl Cluster Necklace

Bridal Portrait

Mr. Panther would be arriving soon for our first look, and this would be one of my last moments of calm.

For those of you already married, did you run into any mishaps on your wedding morning? How’d you react? Brides-to-be, who will zip you up?

Miss any of the Panther recaps? Get caught up!

  • Pre-Wedding Chaos
  • Ready, Set, Rehearse!
  • The Rehearsal Dinner
  • Get Up and Get Pretty
  • All photos by Raw Photo Design

    No comments yet

    Leave a Reply

    