Skip to content

Pre-Wedding Pretties

March 31, 2011

I don’t have many wedding updates because I haven’t had time to work on any projects, so will you guys settle for a post about online shopping for bridal event outfits? Please? OK, good—here goes!

Following in the Panther wedding tradition of booking things waaaay in advance, my mom booked the bridal shower location last summer, even though it’s not until this June. And of course, I bought a dress immediately. Surprise, surprise!

I didn’t go into Anthropologie planning to buy a dress—in fact, I very rarely buy clothes at Anthro. I find that I always look too short in their clothing, which is weird, because I’ve seen ladies shorter than me really rock it! But anyway, I was in there with BM J-Dawg (who loves her some Anthro and looks good in everything she tries on), and I spotted what seemed like the perfect bridal shower dress.


Source

It was a whitish shade, not too dressy but not too casual, feminine and floral. Exactly what you’d expect the bride to wear for a brunch shower, right? Plus, it fit like a dream. It was on the longer side, but I figured this ensured that no one would see up my dress while I was opening gifts. I ignored the fact that it was, well, not at all my style.

Don’t get me wrong. I love pleats. I like florals. But the top is like, ivory eyelet. I generally prefer my embellishments to consist of studs, sequins and the like. And it’s so flowy—my body looks much better in structured styles. This dress is just not me. But it seemed like what I should wear, and BM J-Dawg assured me that Anthro’s return policy would allow me to bring it back if and when I changed my mind. So, I took it home.

Now, a few months from the shower, as I sort of expected, I don’t want to wear it! Like, at all! Time to return the Anthro dress and start looking for other options. I complained to my bridesmaids that I had no clue how I was going to find something classy but edgy, daytime but not preppy, light-colored but not Lily Pulitzer … My shower is at a country club, but I don’t want to look like I belong in a country club! It’s just not me. And magically, the perfect dress appeared:


Source

Ohhh, yes. Tibi, silk crepe de chine, gorgeous print and such pretty colors! And want to hear the best part? It’s only $50.

… Say what?! It’s true! It’s because I’m renting it!

Mrs. Cheetah has already written a post extolling the virtues of Rent the Runway, so I’ll be brief: I’m renting the dress, they’ll send me two sizes for free because I’ve never rented from that designer before, and it’s insured, so if I spill champagne all over it, it’s OK! (To an extent—the insurance only covers minor damage, of course.)

Want to see the part of the dress that makes it edgy?


Source

Zoinks! This part makes me a little nervous. Going braless is not an option. I don’t have huge ta-tas by any means, but the girls need some support. I’m thinking I’ll need to invest in a backless NuBra. Have any of you ladies tried these? Can they handle a 34D, I hope? I’ll definitely need to try my options with a different dress before the rental comes!

I was concerned very briefly about the length of the dress, but then I saw that the model is 5’10”. I’m only 5’4″, and according to the internet, Olivia Palermo is, too. Check out the dress length on her!


Source

It is perfect, non?

I felt that this dress just HAD to be worn with nude patent platform pumps, but Rent the Runway doesn’t do shoes, so I had to buy some. I had my sights set on the Aldo Moos, but then I spotted the Joan & David Flipps on Piperlime, and it was love at first sight. They’re BLUSH!


Source

Love, love, love. Honestly, a 4″ heel is usually a little short for me (hey, I like to feel tall, and when you’re only 5’4″, it takes a lot!), but I figure I’ll have to do a lot of walking around and shmoozing at this shower, so a little extra comfort can’t hurt. I can’t wait for these to arrive! I really hope they fit! They’re going to look so beautiful with my rose gold clutch. I … love things. I can’t help it. Please don’t judge me.

Anyone else always find time for online shopping, no matter how busy you are?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 9:49 am

    i loooooooooooooooooooove that dress…. but then again, i also really love the anthro one!!! beauuuuuutiful dresses (and shoes). I just got a pair of shoes almost EXACTLY like those, but they’re a little more nude than blush, and they’re 4.5 inches. 😀 😀 😀

    • April 1, 2011 12:11 pm

      Oooh, awesome! Where’d you get yours?? I still want a back-up plan. I love the shoes I bought in the picture, but I’m worried that in person they might be too pink or too pearly — I don’t want to look like a Barbie!

Leave a Reply

