Skip to content

Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

March 3, 2011

Guys, I feel like I’ve been a bad bee lately, and I’m very sorry. I’ve only been posting once a week at best, and that’s not enough! I have an explanation, but it’s not an excuse.

See, it all started a few weeks ago, when I fell in love. Falling in love with someone other than your future husband can really screw with the wedding planning process!

Don’t worry—it wasn’t with another human. It was with a puppy named Chickie:


Source

Isn’t that the sweetest widdle baby you’ve ever seen?! I don’t know why I was on Petfinder looking at dogs … I just was. And when I saw that face, I informed Mr. Panther that we were getting a dog. Of course, he looked at me like I had five heads. He was very much against the idea (he loves dogs, but thought the timing was completely wrong). I argued and argued and argued, and quite frankly was pretty surprised when I couldn’t convince him. Don’t take this the wrong way, but … well, I usually get my way.

Finally, desperately, I asked Mr. Panther what it would take to change his mind. He said that if we moved into a bigger place with a yard (we’re currently in a two-bedroom apartment), we could get a dog. I thought that sounded insane—we’re getting married in four months, hello, and we told ourselves we weren’t moving again until we were ready to buy a house.

Strangely, it was about that time that we received our lease renewal notice in the mail. Our lease is up April 7, and the notice said that if we wanted to renew, we’d be paying an extra $100 per month. We also pay $50 a month for a storage space. All together, the amount we’d be paying to live in our little apartment would actually be enough to rent a house. We thought about it and decided it was worth looking into.

In the meantime, I was doing research on Chickie’s breed. She was listed as a husky/collie mix (she’s now listed as a chow/collie mix), and I was trying to figure out how she’d do with cats. I fully realize that it’s different for every dog, and with mutts, you never know which breed’s temperaments will come through, and if you socialize a puppy correctly with cats, you’ll most likely never run into problems. I know this—you don’t have to tell me. However, I learned that certain breeds have high prey drives, and no matter how well you socialize them, there’s always a chance that they might attack or even kill your cats. Huskies are one of these breeds (chows are, too). I really want a dog, but I wasn’t willing to risk my cats’ safety—even if it was just a teeny tiny chance. So, I decided not to pursue Chickie. However, she’s still available, so someone in the Atlanta area should really adopt her!

Anywho, by the time I figured that out, we’d gone too far in the house hunt to turn back. We’d realized that it really did make sense and that we could get a lot more for our money. We found an adorable little ranch in a great neighborhood, and before I knew it, we’d put down a deposit. We’re moving March 18!

So, that’s why I’ve been such a bad bee and haven’t been posting much. I’ve taken a temporary detour from wedding mode into moving/nesting mode. We’ll have a lot more space in our new place, and there’s so many new areas to fill and decorate! I love home decor, and as I’m sure most of you know, it has a lot in common with wedding planning, so my obsession has kind of moved to that for the moment. Anyone want to see the new table I just ordered for our foyer? Anyone? I’m going to show you, anyway.


Source

It’s from Target, it’s made of MIRRORS, and it’s on sale! So exciting!

OK, but really. This has to stop. First of all, we don’t have room in our budget to blow wedding money on new furniture. Second of all, there will be plenty of time after the wedding to take care of this stuff. We only have four months left, and we need to focus.

So, I’ll be back to my regular posting-like-crazy status soon, I promise. I just need to get a little bit of nesting obsession out of my system, and then I’ll be right back to obsessing about wedding stuff! Starting with our invitations! Speaking of which … perhaps I should have given those a bit more thought before deciding to move. Remember our envelopes?

… Remember how we already had them printed? With our current address on the back flap and the RSVP envelope? Yeah. I forgot.


Photo courtesy of Twin Ravens Press

It’s not worth not moving over, of course. It’s just unfortunate. Very unfortunate. Since the outer envelopes have already been addressed by our calligrapher, we’re just going to leave the back flap as is and rely on mail forwarding. If any of them get returned, we’ll just pray they find their way to our new house. Only two of our Save the Dates came back, so I’m not too worried. However, our RSVP cards are a little too important to take risks with, so Kristin at Twin Ravens Press is going to print new ones for us. Since she has such reasonable prices, it won’t hurt us too much, but I feel so badly that her hard work on the first set is going to waste! They’re so pretty. Sigh.


Photo courtesy of Twin Ravens Press

We decided not to bother our poor calligrapher again, and instead, I just used our invitation fonts to make a graphic of our new address. This way, everything inside the outer envelope will match, and the calligraphy will just be an extra-special touch for the outer envelope. I actually think it’s going to look really cool!

So that’s what’s been going on in Chez Panther. We’re total psychos who have decided to take on another huge task/responsibility four months before our wedding. Wahoo! It’s going to be worth it, though. And now, when the right doggie comes along, we can add him or her to our furry family!

Anyone else crazy enough to commit to extra things right before getting married? Was it a relief to focus on something other than wedding stuff, or did it just stress you out more?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 11:16 pm

    AHHHH chickie is just so cute. But in all honesty, GET A SHIH TZU. You won’t regret it. They have all the positive things about dogs (really cuddly, loves going on walks, loves playing) but ALSO with all the positive things about cats (obsessed with sleeping, small, fuzzy). AND THEY DON’T SHED. ANNNNND THEY’RE SO CUTE. Seriously, I know I’m a shih tzu maniac, but they’re the best!!!

    Also, I want to see pics/hear details about your new house ASAP!

    • March 4, 2011 1:48 am

      Awwww, they ARE soooo cute! Especially Ludwig! We want a bigger doggie, though — we already have two cats! Not TOO big. Just like, at least twice the size of our cats. 🙂
      I think I’ll post pictures of our new house on Facebook soon! Yayyyyy!

Leave a Reply

