Skip to content

But … It’s Mine!

January 4, 2011

I’ve probably let it slip a couple of times that I’m a little obsessed with my dress. It was obviously my biggest purchase so far, and I’ve been kind of designing everything else around it. It’s the whole wedding, basically.

And I’ve been thrilled not to see it on many other people. I Tivo Say Yes to the Dress: Atlanta just so I can fast-forward through the episodes in search of my gown. I Google it like it’s my job. I scan the blogs for any hint of taffeta. After seven months of not spotting it anywhere other than magazine ads, I was fairly certain that I had picked a really original style. I once asked Monte why I never saw anyone try it on the show, and he said, “Well, honey, not many women can pull it off like you can.” I positively glowed at that comment. Yes! YES! *cue maniacal laughter*

Unfortunately, at the end of October … I spotted it. On the blog of all blogs, Style Me Pretty. And it wasn’t just a brief mention—they were gushing over it. Check out the post here.


Source

Oh, PS: SHE’S WEARING MY BRACELET, TOO.

Now please, do NOT get me wrong: I feel so lucky to have a wedding gown that would attract the attention of Style Me Pretty. It’s actually sad how much I crave their approval. But at the same time … the more they gush over it, the more brides that will run out and buy it. And the less chance I’ll have of wearing an unusual, original dress. I know it’s Amsale, and I should have gone with an indie designer if I really wanted to be original, but, well, I fell in love.

And today, Style Me Pretty released a digital magazine featuring their favorite weddings of the year. I secretly hoped that the Georgetown wedding wouldn’t be in there. But as I clicked through, there it was, with this as the headline: “Georgetown’s Finest: With a dress that just might bring you to tears,” and this as the description: “One look at this gorgeous gown and we were done. Add that to a beautiful bridal party, a stunning bride, a [blah blah blah and a blah blah blah]. But if we had to pin it down … it’s that dress, that perfect fairy-tale of a dress, that completely and totally stole our hearts.”

OK, OK, we get it! You like the dress! But please, keep it to yourselves!

I know—I’m being irrational and ungrateful and obnoxious. But I can’t help wanting to keep my dress all for myself.


Take it off! Take it off right now, beautiful Georgetown bride!! … Just kidding.

Join me, ladies. I’m sharing my secret, guilty, evil thoughts with you, just in case anyone else has some evil thoughts and wants to feel less alone in her evilness. Please share one of your selfish bridezilla moments to make me feel better about being such a giant B.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. megan permalink
    January 5, 2011 12:18 pm

    hey – i wanted to try and email you but couldn’t find yours, we have the same dress too! shoot me a note when you can. don’t be bummed that it’s featured on SMP, our weddings and look will be totally different, but would love to chat with ya 🙂

  2. Chloe permalink
    January 5, 2011 8:27 pm

    Too funny! I have the same dress as well and I was just thinking the same thing as I saw the SMP post yesterday! *tear* I’m glad someone feels the same way, haha!

  3. Elle permalink
    January 23, 2011 7:44 pm

    Hi there! I can totally understand the love affair you are having with your dress. I have loved it, also, ever since I saw it. And I recently tried it on at a local bridal store. I absolutely still love it. Anyhow, are you going to consider selling yours after your wedding? I would be interesting in purchasing it used. Thanks in advance for letting me know either way!!!

    • January 26, 2011 5:00 pm

      Hi Elle! I doubt I’ll sell it — I’m really, really attached to it — but if I change my mind, I’ll come back to your comment!

Leave a Reply

