Skip to content

The Almost-End of the Shoe Saga

December 26, 2010

First of all, Merry belated Christmas to everyone who celebrates it! Hope you all had a lovely holiday full of food, family, presents, or whatever else makes you happy.

OK, moving on. I’ve had quite the issues with picking shoes. I’m still six months away from the wedding and three months away from my first fitting, so there’s no rush to pick shoes, but I’m impatient, so I did it anyway.

Let me get my disclaimer out of the way:

In my last post, I showed you three pairs of shoes I had purchased to try on when my dress came in. Shortly after I bought those, before they arrived, I also ordered these:


Badgley Mischka – “Fuller” in teal

They were listed as having a 4″ heel, and the color was absolute perfection, so I figured it was worth seeing those with the dress, too. Just in case anyone forgot, I ordered my dress with a custom hem, and I was supposed to wear it with 3.5″ heels, but I was optimistically hoping for a little extra height.

Well, when the shoes came, I learned something very interesting: you can’t trust the heel heights listed online. Remember this, ladies. Let’s recap, shall we?

The Jimmy Choo “Laser” was supposed to be 3.25″ high. Since this was the only heel height in that range, I didn’t compare it to much else. It may have been close to accurate.

The Badgley Mischka “Xavier” was listed as 3.75″ on MyGlassSlipper.com, 4″ on Zappos.com, 4.25″ on Nordstrom.com and 4.5″ on Bloomingdales.com. Seriously!

The Badgley Mischka “Kiwi” was originally listed as 3.75″ on Nordstrom.com, though they’ve since corrected it to 4″. Zappos.com lists them as 4.5″.

So, right off the bat, this was a confusing process. I know, I know, I could have just shopped in stores, but most of the ones I liked were only available online at the time. When my dress came in, I dragged the first three pairs of shoes (the Fullers hadn’t come in yet) to the dress shop for comparison. I tried on the tallest pair first (the Badgley Mischka “Xavier”) with my hopes high.


(Sorry for the boob shot—my push-up strapless doesn’t fit very well under my real dress, plus I’ve packed on a few pounds, so the ladies were really jammed in there!)

And the shoe height was perfect! I wasn’t sure just how tall the Xaviers actually were, but I knew they weren’t 3.5″, so it was apparent that the dress was longer than expected. And I was just fine with that.

The hem just kissed the ground. Perfect! I did a few test strolls to make sure I wasn’t tripping on the front and asked every store associate in sight if the shoe height was right. They all agreed that it couldn’t be better. So, I had a heel height. It was … well, whatever the Xaviers really are. There was just one problem. The Jimmy Choos were my favorite, and they were way too short.

So, the saga continued. Stay tuned for the next—and final—installment!

For you ladies who had your dress hemmed before picking shoes, did you go through these troubles? How long did it take you to find shoes that were just right?

(All personal photos)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

