Skip to content

Twinkles Toes Jumped the Gun

October 5, 2010

Oh, hello. It’s just me here, the Shoe Monster. Just hangin’ out, thinking about all the things I could own if I didn’t insist on being the Atlanta version of a broke Carrie Bradshaw.


(Cookie Monster, Studded pumps, Platform ankle boots, Platform oxford)

Now that I have (most of) my jewelry and a hairpiece, and they’ve been deemed fabulous by Monte, I can’t help wanting to keep on truckin’ in the Wedding Day Look saga. And I’ve been holding off on something very important: Duh, the shoes.

As I’ve mentioned, my dress is being made with a custom hem, so when I ordered the gown, I had to tell them what heel height I wanted to wear. It was a high-pressure moment, and the sales associates kept telling me I’d regret it if uncomfortable shoes ruined my wedding day, and … I folded. This is very unlike me. I a) do not usually fold, and b) LOVE HIGH HEELS. But nonetheless, I told them 3.5″ and went on my merry way.

Fast-forward to now. After months of searching, I’ve made one valuable discovery: Cute shoes rarely come in heel heights lower than 4″. And another valuable discovery: Because they are so rare (maybe), they sell out fast. And I also just learned today that my dress should be in “very, very soon.” After all this time waiting, am I really going to go try it on without shoes? How will I know what height will really work without trying?!

So, I bought some. Just a few pairs. Just so I can try them. I’m not going to keep them, really.

  1. To fill the glitter quota: Jimmy Choo ‘Laser’ Sandal



    At 3 1/4″, this is my safe heel height shoe. And … SPARKLY! I am a magpie. You should know this about me.

  2. To fill the color option quota: Badgley Mischka ‘Xavier’ (White Satin)



    The white satin can be dyed, so they could be turquoise, purple, blue … The white tulle, however, cannot be dyed, so that could potentially be a problem (my dress is NOT white). One site lists these as 3 3/4″ heels, another lists them as 4″ and yet another lists them at 4 1/4″. So we’ll see how the height works out.
  3. To fill the fun embellishment quota: Badgley Mischka ‘Kiwi’ Sandal



    OMG, feathers! These are allegedly 3 3/4″.

The good news is that two of the pairs are from Nordstrom and one is from Zappos, so they all should be easy to return. Since the wedding is still nine months away, the chances of me finding something I like better are really, really good. So maybe this was a really, really bad idea. Only time will tell, eh?

What do you guys think? Is buying shoes this early a horrible idea, or is it good to have them picked out before your first fitting? Did you have to make tough choices based on heel height?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Alisa permalink
    October 5, 2010 6:06 pm

    I pretty much blame myself for this lol. If I hadn’t sent you tons of links you wouldn’t have immediately spent a gazillion dollars on shoes hahaha. Two people with a serious shoe problem…should leave shoes out of their friendship…we’re only hurting each other haha

    • October 5, 2010 6:09 pm

      I BLAME YOU TOO. But not really. This was bound to happen once “Kate” at Bridals by Lori said “your dress should be here very, very soon!” I can’t go in there with no shoes!!!

  2. October 6, 2010 9:23 am

    AHH i LOOOOVE the 1st pair of Badgley Mischkas. WHY can’ t you dye that little poof? I bet they’re lying and you actually can. OR I bet you could have a cobbler replace that with a similar thing in a different color, if you could find one!!

    • October 6, 2010 2:18 pm

      I love them, too! They’re the only ones with a platform! If they’re not too tall (which I think they might be), I’ll probably have to look more into the tulle-dying process …

  3. Jess permalink
    October 6, 2010 2:04 pm

    ** cough** Christian Louboutin Ron Ron ** cough cough HACK cough**

    • October 6, 2010 2:19 pm

      If only I wore a size 5 or 9!!! Wait, don’t I know someone who can wear a 9 … ??

Leave a Reply

