Skip to content

Missing My STDs

September 29, 2010

You know, ladies, when you’ve got STDs, they’re all you can think about. They seem like such a pain in the you-know-what, and you just wish more than anything that you could get rid of them. Then, when it finally happens, you realize that you never knew how to appreciate your STDs until you didn’t have them anymore.

OK, OK, I’ll stop with the sexually transmitted disease jokes. Sheesh. SORRY. But seriously, the Save the Dates. They’re GONE, you guys. I finally found the stamina to get my Cricut back out to make new address labels for the last three, and now everything’s completely done, and they’re gone. I have all this time now. I get home from work, and I feel myself heading toward the closet to pull out my cardboard box of paper, and then I remember that I don’t need to. I call this the Save the Date time vacuum.

When we first finished these monsters, I did take the first evening to sit on the couch with my feet up. But after that, I just had to do something. So … here’s what I did.

  • Scheduled a trip to CT for our venue tasting.
  • Basically picked out the flower girl dresses:

    (Source)
    I still need to pick a color, though. Bridesmaid Jess and I will be taking a trip to the store tomorrow with her bridesmaid dress in hand to try to make a match.

  • Found a bunch of hair inspiration photos, like this one:

    (Source)
  • Looked into providing hotel-venue transportation for guests and totally got shut down. Coach buses are expensive. I’m sorry, guests. Be careful at that open bar.
  • Broke my floral decor concept into two theme options and scheduled a meeting with our florist to discuss which one will work. Also told him we’ll want to sign a contract during said meeting.
  • Designed and planned our entire invitation suite. Sorry, no pictures yet—it’ll be a surprise!
  • Got a formal estimate and signed a contract with Twin Ravens Press to letterpress our invitations.
  • Chose and booked our calligrapher, Michele Clark!

    (Source)

  • Bought a sweet leather jacket—oh, wait, sorry, that’s not wedding-related.

Mr. Panther also spoke to our wedding band, and that contract is getting signed this week! And then I guess that’s it. Fairly impressive, right? I feel accomplished. I’m not sure if this pace will continue or if I’m just in such a frenzy because of the vacuum, but if I could just have a few more surges like this, I think the wedding will be done by December. Cool.

Have you ever found yourself freaked out by free time after finishing a major task? Is this a sign that my Post-Wedding Depression will lead to a Post-Honeymoon Breakdown?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alisa permalink
    October 10, 2010 6:55 pm

    my vote goes for the bird cages and branches….especially since you already have the beautiful cake topper..and you should totally get those little nests with the eggs…the bird theme is way too cute to pass up

    • October 10, 2010 8:13 pm

      I think I’m gonna find a way to combine them … I can’t decide! =)

Leave a Reply

