Skip to content

Calligraphy Is Hard

April 17, 2010

Experiment time!

My new book, Calligraphy for Dummies, says calligraphy should be practiced sitting at a desk with a tilted writing surface. I’m sitting on a couch with a piano bench in front of me. Ol’ Calligraphy Jim (the author) also suggests learning with a fountain pen—I got calligraphy markers because I thought they’d be easier. Easier, as it turns out, equals cheating and does not ensure a good learning environment. Huh. I also am supposed to be practicing with specifically-measured and, obviously, straight lines. I’m not so good at making straight lines.


(Personal photo)

I think maybe I’m going about this all wrong. But it’s gonna be GREAT.

Also, I’ve been working on beefing up my DIY supplies lately! I’m getting a Xyron tomorrow because I got a coupon for 40% off a single item from Michael’s! Yesssss. However, I wish I had waited to go to Paper Source for my bone folder. I bought a Martha Stewart one the other day, and, frankly, it makes me look like a sissy.


(Personal photo)

Martha, were the rhinestones really necessary? Sigh.

Anyone else tell themselves they could learn calligraphy and then get a huge kick out of their total inadequacy? Anyone?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jess permalink
    April 21, 2010 11:01 pm

    Rhinestones.

    YES!

Leave a Reply

