Skip to content

Many Happy Return Addresses

April 15, 2010

Stop making fun of my entry titles, you guys.

I’m SO excited right now. I’ve been at a total loss about how to address our envelopes. I don’t have nice handwriting, but I don’t want to spend money on calligraphy, and the idea of paying for someone to print or label the envelopes doesn’t thrill me, either. I know the etiquette is less strict for RSVP envelopes and Save the Dates, but I want everything to match.

I still don’t know what to do about the guest addresses, but I think I’ve found some great solutions for OUR address. Personalized embossers!

The idea of embossing entered my brain when I received a sample kit from Paperwhites Press. (The sample was gorgeous, by the way.) I couldn’t wait to see the invitation, but I did pause to check out the embossed return address on the envelope the kit came in. It looked so professional and classy!


(Personal photo)

After falling love with the sample invitation they sent, I spent a lot more time on the website looking at different options. And, entirely by accident, I came across the section of the site where you can purchase your own embossers. They also sell self-inking stamps.


(Source)

I love the look of the round address with a monogram, but I’m not entirely sure if a) our street address AND apartment number would fit or b) the USPS can effectively process a circular address. I’m going to do some research, and if the round thing doesn’t work out, there are lots of rectangular emobssing plates and stamps available, too. I also love this rectangular stamp by Etsy seller emilie friday’s calligraphy.


(Source)

PaperSource.com sells a desk embosser for $28.50 that can be used with a bunch of different plates, which each cost $31.50. Overall, none of these options cost much more than $60, and we can continue to use them on our thank you cards.

Why hadn’t I heard of these before?

Hive, have any of you used a personalized embossing plate? What about custom stamps?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 9:27 pm

    I have one of these for my books. All my books are stamped “from the library of Susan Torres.” Few things make me happier then stamping my books when I’m done reading them.

Leave a Reply

