Skip to content

Getting Our Birds in a Row

April 6, 2010

In the big scheme of wedding things, a cake topper isn’t all too important to me or Mr. Panther. But for some reason, I can’t stop thinking about adorable fabric birds atop a buttercream tier. Or birds nest favors holding tiny candy eggs. Or vintage birdcages holding moss and pillar candles. I don’t even like birds that much. I mean, I think they’re fine, as far as animals go, but they’ve never held a particular interest for me. Until now. Why do I want birds at my wedding? Couldn’t tell you. Just do.

As I’m sure you ladies know, bird-themed cake toppers are totally hot right now. And I’m not sure if it’s because of their popularity, or because they’re hard to make, but damn, those little avian pairs are expensive. And yet, even though they’re overpriced and completely unnecessary, I want one! How can you resist this?


(Source)

Ann Wood‘s handmade “sweethearts” are probably among the most well-known and priciest of the flock. Bella and Bailey here (no longer available—wrote this post a while ago) will set you back $220.

Another pair I’d like to invite to our wedding is Roger and Emmeline, sold on Etsy by Wonderful Rubbish.


(Source)

Much more reasonably-priced at a mere $60, these birdies might actually be an option. But there’s so many more to choose from!

Lauren Alane’s are just so precious:


(Source)

Much love to these cuties for sitting on top of “Guess How Much I Love You,” one of my favorite books ever. These range from $170-$300.

Le Petit Oiseau – A Birdie Bridal Boutique on Etsy also sells some adorable toppers for between $148 and $188.

They’re everywhere! And almost all of them are custom-made, which means you can choose to incorporate your wedding colors, and sometimes other details that are special to you. Absolutely adorable. I must have some. Maybe. I’ll probably find something else I’m in love with next week.

Did anybody else jump on the bird theme bandwagon? Anybody get a love bird cake topper? Show me pictures!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 3:43 pm

    Steph-

    The website is awesome! Your inner tech nerd is very stylish 🙂 I totally get the “bird” theme at the wedding. Birds were a strong theme in my wedding decor. Little faux birds in iron chandeliers and on the desert table and center pieces. I drew alot of inspiration from the 2006 film Marie Antoinette. The decor at her parties was oh so lush and over the top. I knew I had to bring that feeling it into my wedding somehow. I can’t wait to see all the wonderful details unfold. You have impeccable and cutting edge taste, and I know it is going to be fantastic.

    xoxo

    Erin

  2. April 9, 2010 3:49 pm

    ERIN, birds in iron chandeliers?! That sounds incredible! Do you have pictures? I’ve seen a few of your wedding shots on Facebook, and it looked goooorgeous, but I don’t think they showed off the decor enough. I need to see more!
    Thanks, love. =)

Leave a Reply

